## Section 2.—Provincial Governments

In each of the provinces, the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor appointed by the Governor General in Council and governs with the advice and assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. The legislatures of all the provinces, with the exception of Quebec, are now unicameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly.

12.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with Present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation, and Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected

Province, Territory or District	Date of Admission or Creation			Legislative Process	Present Area (square miles)		
					Land	Fresh Water	Total
Ontario	July July	1, 1, 1,	1867 1867 1867 1867 1867	Act of Imperial Parliament — The British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council of May 22, 1867.  Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council. June 23.	363, 282 523, 860 20, 743 27, 473	49,300 71,000 325 512	412,5821 594,8602 21,068 27,985
British Columbia P.E. Island Yukon	July June	1, 13,	1871 1873 1898	1870. Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871 Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873 Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6). Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII,	219, 723 359, 279 2, 184 205, 346	26,789 6,976 4 1,730	246,5123 366,255 2,184 207,076
Alberta	Sept. Jan. Jan.	1, 1, 1,	1905 1905 1920 1920 1920	Saskatchewan Act, 1995 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42).  Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3).  Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	237, 975 248, 800 493, 225 218, 460 541, 753	13,725 6,485 34,265 9,700 7,500	251,700 <sup>5</sup> 255,285 <sup>5</sup> 527,490 <sup>6</sup> 228,160 <sup>6</sup> 549,253 <sup>6</sup>
				Totals	3,462,103	228,307	3,690,410

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 40). <sup>2</sup> Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 45), and diminished in consequence of the Award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council (Mar. 1, 1927), whereby some 112,400 square miles of territory, formerly considered as part of Quebec, were assigned to Newfoundland. Extended by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 1881, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V c. 32). <sup>4</sup> Too small to be enumerated. <sup>5</sup> Alberta and Saskatchewan now cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian P.C., concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895.

6 By Order in Council, June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, <sup>6</sup> By Order in Council, June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, were established by the Northwest Territories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., c. 25), the District of Keewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., c. 21). The provisional Districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava were defined in an Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895, their boundaries being changed by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. By Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin, not included in the Northwest Territories, was annexed to the latter from Sept. 1, 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the Province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.